Fiction

Fiction

American Tradition in Literature 12th Edition

$116.80
$146.00
You Save:
$29.20
Sale 20% off
Widely known as the anthology that best unites tradition with innovation, The American Tradition in Literature is proud to enter its fifth decade of leadership among textbook anthologies of American literature.

Each volume continues to offer a flexible organization, with literary merit as the guiding principle of selection. The new photos and illustrations illuminate the texts and literary/historical timelines help students put works in context.

ISBN/SKU: 
9780073384894
Publication Date: 
2008-11-11

Anthology of American Literature Volume 1 10th Edition

$85.00
$106.25
You Save:
$21.25
Sale 20% off
This two-volume anthology represents America's literary heritage from colonial times through the American renaissance to the contemporary era of post-modernism. Volume I offers early contextual selections from Christopher Columbus and Gaspar Perez de Villagra, as well as an excerpt from the Iroquois League s Constitution of the Five Nations, and ends with an extensive selection of the poetry of Emily Dickinson. This anthology is bestknown for its useful pedagogy, including extensive and straightforward headnotes and introductions, as well as its balanced approach to editorial selection process. "
ISBN/SKU: 
9780205779390
Publication Date: 
2010-06-28

Back to the Lake a Reader For Writers 3rd Edition

$49.92
$62.40
You Save:
$12.48
Sale 20% off
Back to the Lake 3e includes new chapters on writing paragraphs and using rhetorical modes in academic writing which shows how the patterns taught in this book are used in the kinds of writing college students are expected to do. New readings are on timely topics that will engage students. Templates and marginal notes that explicitly link the readings and the writing instruction help students apply the lessons in this book to their own writing. "
ISBN/SKU: 
9780393937367
Publication Date: 
2011-12-01
Publisher: 

Back to the Lake Reader For Writers 2nd Edition

$49.92
$62.40
You Save:
$12.48
Sale 20% off
The Second Edition contains 34 new readings that teachers will want to teach and students will like to read, from Steven Pinker s Mind Over Mass Media to Alex Horton s Advice for College-bound Vets, as well as a chapter on academic writing, and editorial apparatus that explicitly links the readings to the writing instruction, with notes in the margins leading students from the text to specific examples in the readings and the reverse."
ISBN/SKU: 
9780393912685
Publication Date: 
2011-12-01
Author: 
Publisher: 

Beloved

$12.80
$16.00
You Save:
$3.20
Sale 20% off
Staring unflinchingly into the abyss of slavery, this spellbinding novel transforms history into a story as powerful as Exodus and as intimate as a lullaby. Sethe, its protagonist, was born a slave and escaped to Ohio, but eighteen years later she is still not free. She has too many memories of Sweet Home, the beautiful farm where so many hideous things happened. And Sethe s new home is haunted by the ghost of her baby, who died nameless and whose tombstone is engraved with a single word: Beloved. Filled with bitter poetry and suspense as taut as a rope, Beloved" "is a towering achievement."
ISBN/SKU: 
9781400033416
Publication Date: 
2004-06-01
Author: 
Publisher: 
Publisher: 
Vintage

Canterbury Tales

product image
$19.20
$24.00
You Save:
$4.80
Sale 20% off
One of the great masterworks of English literature, in a gorgeous new clothbound edition
In"The Canterbury Tales"Chaucer created one of the great touchstones of English literature, a masterly collection of chivalric romances, moral allegories, and low farce. A storytelling competition between a group of pilgrims from all walks of life is the occasion for a series of tales that range from the Knight s account of courtly love and the ebullient Wife of Bath s Arthurian legend, to the ribald anecdotes of the Miller and the Cook. Nevill Coghill s masterly and vivid modern English verse translation is rendered with consummate skill to retain all the vigor and poetry of Chaucer s fourteenth-century Middle English."
ISBN/SKU: 
9780141393216
Publication Date: 
2015-12-28
Author: 
Publisher: 
Publisher: 
Penguin Books

Christmas Carol & Other Christmas Writings

product image
$17.60
$22.00
You Save:
$4.40
Sale 20% off
Part of Penguin's beautiful hardback Clothbound Classics series, designed by the award-winning Coralie Bickford-Smith, these delectable and collectible editions are bound in high-quality colourful, tactile cloth with foil stamped into the design. After reading Christmas Carol, the notoriously reculsive Thomas Carlyle was "seized with a perfect convulsion of hospitality" and threw not one but two Christmas dinner parties. The impact of the story may not always have been so dramatic but, along with Dickens other Christmas writings, it has had a lasting and significant influence upon our ideas about the Christmas spirit, and about the season as a time for celebration, charity, and memory.
ISBN/SKU: 
9780141195858
Publication Date: 
2010-09-28
Author: 
Publisher: 
Publisher: 
Penguin Books

Dark Tower & Other Stories

$11.19
$13.99
You Save:
$2.80
Sale 20% off

A repackaged edition of the revered author's definitive collection of short fiction, which explores enduring spiritual and science fiction themes such as space, time, reality, fantasy, God, and the fate of humankind.

From C.S. Lewis--the great British writer, scholar, lay theologian, broadcaster, Christian apologist, and author of Mere Christianity, The Screwtape Letters, The Great Divorce, The Chronicles of Narnia, and many other beloved classics--comes a collection of his dazzling short fiction.

This collection of futuristic fiction includes a breathtaking science fiction story written early in his career in which Cambridge intellectuals witness the breach of space-time through a chronoscope--a telescope that looks not just into another world, but into another time.

As powerful, inventive, and profound as his theological and philosophical works, The Dark Tower reveals another side of Lewis's creative mind and his longtime fascination with reality and spirituality. It is ideal reading for fans of J. R. R. Tolkien, Lewis's longtime friend and colleague.

ISBN/SKU: 
9780062643537
Publication Date: 
2017-02-14
Author: 
Publisher: 
Publisher: 
HarperOne

Day of Atonement a Novel of the Maccabean Revolt

$8.00
$15.99
You Save:
$7.99
Sale 50% off
$12.79
$15.99
You Save:
$3.20
Sale 20% off
$8.00 - $12.79
In the blank pages between Malachi and Matthew, the course of an entire nation was changed . . .
"His brother, the high priest Honiah, enjoyed the authority of the high priesthood, and all important decisions needed his approval. But it was Jason who was shaping the future of Jerusalem and with it, all Judea. He breathed in again, imagining that he could feel the wave of destiny impelling him forward toward his vision as he exhaled . . ."
The Greeks have taken over the world, but Jerusalem is still the same backwater city Jason has always known. He wants to help his hometown rise to a new age of prosperity and influence. If that means stretching the terms of the city's divine covenant, so be it. But how far is he willing to go to achieve Greek greatness for this Jewish city? It will take the willingness of a handful of Jews to die rather than violate the covenant in order to turn the tide back to God.
Written by an internationally recognized expert in the period between the Testaments, "Day of Atonement" invites readers into Judea during the tumultuous years leading up to the Maccabean Revolt. It was this pivotal decade that reminded Jews of the centrality of the covenant to their national security and taught them that the covenant was worth dying for. The story is so foundational, it is still told every year at Hanukkah. The lessons learned during this turbulent time also shed light on just what was at stake in the ministry of Jesus, whose radical message seemed to threaten the covenant once again.
"Day of Atonement" joins the perennially successful novels "Pontius Pilate" and "The Flames of Rome" by renowned historian Paul Maier on Kregel's premier list of captivating and historically accurate biblical novels.
ISBN/SKU: 
9780825424717
Publication Date: 
2015-06-27
Author: 
Publisher: 

Derailed a Novel

$11.99
$14.99
You Save:
$3.00
Sale 20% off
2.5 million-copy seller, Neta Jackson and Dave Jackson draw on

proven strengths for entertaining, multi-ethnic and relationally-driven stories in

the second book of the Windy City Neighbors series, Derailed.

ISBN/SKU: 
9781617950018
Publication Date: 
1901-12-13
Author: 
Publisher: 

Experiment in Criticism

$15.99
$19.99
You Save:
$4.00
Sale 20% off
C. S. Lewis's wisdom is valuably down-to-earth, refreshing and stimulating in the questions it raises about the experience of reading.
ISBN/SKU: 
9781107604728
Publication Date: 
2012-03-26
Author: 
Publisher: 
Cambridge University Press

Fellowship of the Ring

product image
$11.16
$13.95
You Save:
$2.79
Sale 20% off
The first volume in J.R.R. Tolkien's epic adventure THE LORD OF THE RINGSOne Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them, One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In ancient times the Rings of Power were crafted by the Elven-smiths, and Sauron, the Dark Lord, forged the One Ring, filling it with his own power so that he could rule all others. But the One Ring was taken from him, and though he sought it throughout Middle-earth, it remained lost to him. After many ages it fell into the hands of Bilbo Baggins, as told in The Hobbit. In a sleepy village in the Shire, young Frodo Baggins finds himself faced with an immense task, as his elderly cousin Bilbo entrusts the Ring to his care. Frodo must leave his home and make a perilous journey across Middle-earth to the Cracks of Doom, there to destroy the Ring and foil the Dark Lord in his evil purpose.
A unique, wholly realized other world, evoked from deep in the well of Time, massively detailed, absorbingly entertaining, profound in meaning. New York Times"
ISBN/SKU: 
9780547928210
Publication Date: 
2012-09-18
Author: 
Publisher: 
Publisher: 
Mariner Books